Since an early age we are spoon-fed with the idea that if we work hard enough, one day it will all worth while. So we go on and study hard, year after year, to get into a good college and hope the future will smile upon us.
But it is only when we leave college and enter the professional world that we realize the promises made to us were not quite true. Our parents's effort in paying for a higher education was not enough. They did what their own parents couldn't, hoping their children didn't have to go through what they did. But the truth is simple -
if we don't have the right last name or the right connections, well, let's face it, we are pretty much fucked.
I don't live in the US which to some extent might be easier because of the cost of living but being in a small country can be overwhelming. The market is smaller therefore less opportunities are available and having a degree in this economy is the same has being a new fish in a pond full of piranas. I have listened to advice from older, younger and same age friends, temporary job agencies and all told me to come up with a stratigic plan. And I did. But still, it seems as uneffective as my higher education. And believe me, I tried those new hippie creative ways of sending a CV. To an advertising agency I even built a LEGO house with my shrunk but still readable CV on the inside. So it sure as hell isn't for the lack of trying. My question is: what to do next?
Sem comentários:
Enviar um comentário